· 

5 Ways to Keep Yourself Motivated to Write

We all have those days when it just seems impossible to write. Believe me, some days I would much rather sit back on the couch and watch reruns of my favorite shows or have a Disney movie marathon, but there is something that always draws me back to writing. I have always thought about this struggle we writers face, and I think much of the problem has to do with the fact that writing is a love-hate relationship. At the same time, writing can be equally frustrating as it is enticing. I thought I would take the time to share five ways that I stay motivated while writing, even when the last thing I feel like doing is picking up a pencil or opening up my computer.

I recently discovered this quote from author Neil Gaiman, and I think it perfectly represents the struggle that writers face. When you really think about it, writing is quite the  trickster!
I recently discovered this quote from author Neil Gaiman, and I think it perfectly represents the struggle that writers face. When you really think about it, writing is quite the trickster!

1. Start the writing process in your mind, not on the paper.

A lot of times, my reason for hesitating to write is rooted in looking at a blank page. That is probably the worst scenario for me because I feel that I have all these swimming thoughts going throughout my head, and I feel like I cannot sort them out to be properly represented as words on a page.

 

Over the years, I have found it helpful to change my mindset about where the writing process begins. Instead of the blank paper being the starting point, I choose to begin the process in my mind - with my thoughts. This way, when I approach the blank paper, I am more excited and eager to write because I have a better idea of what I am trying to say.

 

When approaching a piece of writing, I will schedule some time with myself to just think. No distractions. No overwhelming blank paper or screen in front of me. It is sort of a meditation exercise for writing, where I can sort through my thoughts and find new concentrated points of creativity that may be helpful in my particular writing piece. I find that this exercise helps to ease any anxiety I have about starting a new work and amps up my eagerness to begin writing.

2. Find excitement in what you are writing about.

I find that I write best when I am excited about it. This is sort of a given, but it's an important one. When we are excited about what we are writing, our motivation skyrockets and our passion shines through. The moment a writer finds passion in their work is the peak of the process. It's a writer's equivalent to a runner's high. It's the moment you feel like you just can't stop writing. 

 

For me, the more interested I am in the topic, the easier it is to start up this sort of "writer's high," but when I am faced with a topic that doesn't quite peak my interest, getting the motor running can be very difficult. Especially for students who are given writing assignments for their various classes, getting excited about writing is a challenge because every student is interested in different things. Even for a passionate writer like me, when I am faced with analytical essays on bland topics, it seems impossible to find excitement in my writing. 

 

Overtime, I've developed a way to build excitement towards my writing, even when I am writing about something that does not interest me whatsoever. I have found that in wake of these assignments, it is helpful to focus on the creative ways I can respond to the prompt as opposed to focusing on how to make myself interested in the topic as a whole. For me, when I am able to squeeze out some creativity from even the driest, most uncreative assignments, I find satisfaction and excitement in the fact that I have found a unique way to approach my writing.

 

Even if your piece of writing is a research paper or an academic essay, there are still ways to make it creative and your own - it just takes a little more digging to find that originality you are looking for. I promise, once you dig, you will be able to find the writing approach that fits you exactly, and your excitement will begin to flourish!

3. Make your writing environment a cozy one.

Writing should always be a pleasant experience. When you are surrounded by an atmosphere that makes you feel comfortable, you can truly do your best work while also enjoying the creative moment. 

 

Surround yourself with things that make you feel happy and cozy. For instance, make your desk a place that you enjoy being at by filling it with pictures that remind you of happy times or that inspire you. If you're a candle geek, try lighting a candle or two. Overall, try to load your environment with the joy you wish to put into your writing.

 

I feel like writing gets a wrap for being an indoor activity, but sometimes I have to remind myself that writing outside is a wonderful experience. Especially if it's a nice day, try taking your writing outside to the backyard or patio. You could also go to a local park or trail to get inspiration as well. For me, being right in the midst of nature makes me feel an extra powerful connection to my work. Just like the surrounding plants and animals, the words begin to form naturally.

 

However, if it is a chillier day or raining outside, there is nothing better than snuggling up in some blankets with a hot beverage to start writing. This is when the warm lighting and candles elevate the writing coziness level to a million. Try sitting next to a window as well. Even if the weather is bad, I often discover coziness in noticing that I am warm and comfortable inside in contrast to the yucky weather outside. Also, even the grossest weather can have some beauty to it, and such a mindset can often lead to some creative inspiration for your writing!

4. Try free-writing.

Free-writing is an exercise that I actually learned about in my Tutoring Writing class this past semester. Basically, it is a writing exercise where you try to continuously write without stopping. I find that this is a helpful strategy for me when I have absolutely no idea how to start. Instead of going into a sort of writing freeze-mode, I use free-writing to just get words down on the page. Even if the writing makes absolutely no sense, at least I have something to work with. That is the idea of free-writing - to just get words on paper. They don't have to make sense and they can sound terrible, but they are there, and that's half the battle. 

 

This strategy tries to combat that overwhelming feeling of the empty-page. Instead of just sitting there, do something and fill it up! At the end of the day, you are starting with your first draft, and first drafts should never be perfect (that is what editing and revising are for!). 

 

I have often found that when I free-write, I actually do some of my best work. We often underestimate our abilities to just write and not think. Now don't get me wrong, free-writing does not by any means create perfect writing, but it does allow us to uncover our main ideas and organize our thoughts visually on the page. Overall, when first approaching writing, try to think less and write more. There is plenty of time to think later!

5. Break things down.

Writing is overwhelming. It often calls for immense tasks that cannot be finished in just one day. From personal experience, it is very difficult to stay motivated if you feel like you must take on your writing task all at once. 

 

Instead, I try to break down my task into various smaller parts that seem much more manageable. This will not only make you feel less overwhelmed when you go to write, but it will also help you organize your ideas into categories that aid in building the overarching theme of your work.

 

For instance, I personally like to start off any writing journey with an outline. For some people, focusing on just the outline of their writing would be a perfect first step to accomplish. However, for me, my outlines are extremely extensive and tend to take me two or three days to complete, so I tend to make my first step exploring the beginning two or three ideas of my work. Other writers like to jump right into writing, and so their first step may be focusing on the introduction or first chapter. No matter how you approach your writing, there is a way to narrow the task to seem more manageable.

 

Once you break down your writing, it becomes a much more pleasant experience that keeps you focused and enjoying every moment of the writing process!