· 

"The Shows Must Go On" Is My New Broadway Obsession

If there is one thing you need to know about me, it is that I am a huge musical nerd. I absolutely love everything to do with Broadway, which is why I was so excited when Andrew Lloyd Webber announced that he would be airing free-to-stream musicals on Youtube on a channel called "The Shows Must Go On." This organization was created as a way to continue supporting the arts and keeping them prevalent in a time of uncertainty, as COVID-19 has put the performing arts world to a halt. Every weekend since, Andrew Lloyd Webber has made one of his musicals free to stream for 48 hours on Youtube.

 

Some of the past aired musicals that I watched were the 25th anniversary performance of The Phantom of the OperaLove Never Dies (the sequel to The Phantom of the Opera), and Cats. All three musicals were absolutely incredible, and I have to say that watching the shows from home brought a new sort of magic to the experience. It was really cool to be able to see the actors and sets so close up as opposed to squinting from crammed seats further away. The emotional substance of the musicals was brought to a whole new level because of it. However, as much as I loved watching these musicals from home, nothing can compare to seeing a show live, but I would say it is the next best thing for sure.

Although all three musicals were outstanding, my favorite was definitely the 25th anniversary performance of The Phantom of the Opera, which was filmed at the Royal Albert Hall in London. This musical in particular has been my favorite for years, ever since my obsession with the movie began when I was in second grade, and it never fails to disappoint. Having seen the musical both in New York and Boston, I was excited to see how the special anniversary performance was going to be laid out, as the show seemed to be set up a little different each time I went to see it live. 

 

I was in absolute awe of this particular performance. It held the best acting I had ever seen in any Broadway show, and, to be honest, it made me cry more than once (and that's coming from a person who doesn't cry at movies a lot). The set was so extravagant, and the ensemble performances were phenomenal. At the end of the show, there was also a surprise 25th anniversary celebration I was not expecting but was thrilled to watch. It included Andrew Lloyd Webber himself, alongside the entire cast and memorable past cast members. There was even a performance in which various past Phantoms, including the Phantom in the current show, sang together. Absolute chills. If that is not enough to put you in awe, the original (yes, original) Christine Daae and Phantom were in attendance, and the very-first-ever Christine performed a show-stopping song from the musical. Let me tell you, her talent still holds up to this day! Overall, that was one amazing Broadway-filled night for me.

The next upcoming musical airing this weekend is Hairspray Live!, which I am looking forward to tuning into. If you are interested in streaming the show as well, head on over to "The Shows Must Go On" on Youtube to get updates on all of the newly arriving musicals to watch each weekend. I have added the link to the Youtube channel below as well, so definitely check it out!

 

 

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdmPjhKMaXNNeCr1FjuMvag/featured