The Writer's Desk

The Writer's Desk · 03. April 2024
What I've Learned Since Starting My First Copywriting Job
After spending a lot of my free time as a kid writing poems and essays and stories, along with graduating with a BA in English, I felt pretty good coming in as a writer at an advertising agency. While I still knew I had much to learn (and was eager to do so), I thought my writing experience would be pretty similar as a copywriter. The truth is, I basically had to relearn how to write. No ten-paged essays. No perfect grammar. No using your own voice when writing. As a “classically trained”...
The Writer's Desk · 20. December 2023
Making the Holidays Bright: Creating the CTP Holiday Card Video
Making spirits bright one holiday card video at a time...
The Writer's Desk · 01. November 2023
My Journey Creating the Delta Dental 2023 Campaign
One of my first major projects at CTP (and one of my most memorable) was the Delta Dental of Massachusetts 2023 campaign. I first began working on this project when I was an intern and finished it when I was a full-time hire as a Junior Copywriter. That said, this campaign was a long, detailed process, but being along for the journey every step of the way made it that much more meaningful.
The Writer's Desk · 03. January 2021
Sneak Peek: Gratitude Poetry Journal
https://issuu.com/jhen15/docs/henriques_finaldraft_fall2020_single
The Writer's Desk · 13. December 2020
If you are like me, audiobooks are a necessity to keep me focused while reading. Although sometimes I may skip the audiobook and just read regularly, some books are just brought to life even more through these vocal readings. That being said, I found the absolute BEST audiobook for J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit, and - to make things even better - it is completely free through Youtube! This particular reading of The Hobbit is categorized as a theatrical audiobook, in which actors each play...
The Writer's Desk · 06. June 2020
Just some of my favorite quotes from the enormous collection of writing that we call literature!
The Writer's Desk · 27. May 2020
We all have those days when it just seems impossible to write. Believe me, some days I would much rather sit back on the couch and watch reruns of my favorite shows or have a Disney movie marathon, but there is something that always draws me back to writing. I have always thought about this struggle we writers face, and I think much of the problem has to do with the fact that writing is a love-hate relationship. At the same time, writing can be equally frustrating as it is enticing. I thought I...